About Us

District Overview

Fort Osage District MapThe Fort Osage Fire Protection District is a career emergency services district which provides fire protection, paramedic ambulance service, special rescue, hazardous materials and a variety of non-emergency service to patrons within 110 square miles of Northeastern Jackson County 20 minutes east of Kansas City, Missouri. Protection is provided to the cities of Buckner, Levasy, Sibley, River Bend, and parts of un-incorporated Jackson County.

The fire district borders Liberty on the North, Kansas City, Independence and Sugar Creek on the West, Central Jackson County FPD and Sni Valley FPD on the South and Wellington-Napoleon FPD on the East. The fire district is proud to have mutual aid agreements with each of these in an effort to support each other during high call volumes.

Coverage is provided out of three facilities: Station 1/Headquarters in Buckner, Station 2 at Blue Mills and Koger Road and Station 3 in Salem East Subdivision. Station 1 & 3 are staffed 24 hours a day, while Station 2 is utilized as a satellite station and training.

The district is staffed with 30 personnel that are crossed trained in fire protection and emergency medical services as either an emergency medical technician or paramedic operating three (3)engine companies, three (3) ambulances, ladder truck, tankers and brush rigs.

Fire protection ratings are an ISO Class 2 within five (5) road miles from the nearest fire station and 1000 feet of a hydrant. If within five (5) road miles from the nearest fire station but further than 1000 feet of a hydrant it is an ISO Class 4. If further than (5) miles of a fire station and 1000 feet from a hydrant it is an ISO Class 10.